About Kannapolis City Schools


    Kannapolis City Schools surrounds one of the world’s premiere centers of scientific discovery, the NC Research Campus. It is an extraordinary system focused on Creating the Future. KCS gives students the tools to be world class and offers a comprehensive array of programs and resources that are unmatched anywhere in the state. We feature a highly acclaimed STEM Academy, exclusive partnerships with the NC Research Campus, Global Studies, a Dual Language Immersion program, A+ Arts program, Robotics, Culinary Arts, Engineering, and teachers that are rated among the most effective in the region.

    Kannapolis City Schools’ students achieve unparalleled success. We are the home of North Carolina’s Student Apprentice of the Year, the state’s top cheerleading squad, and winners of the 2019 Governor’s Award of Distinction for innovative business partnerships that give KCS students some of the best career opportunities in North Carolina. Our students also earn millions in college scholarships each year. (Click here to see more Fast Facts

    With these outstanding advantages and the tremendous support of our families and community, we are truly CREATING THE FUTURE.


A.L. Brown High School

Fred L. Wilson Elementary

Shady Brook Elementary

Kannapolis Middle School

G.W. Carver Elementary

Woodrow Wilson Elementary

Forest Park Elementary

Jackson Park Elementary

McKnight Head Start